My Daughter Learned to Dance Like a Stripper from Disney

In our house, we love music. We love to dance. We love to sing. We do both a lot and have a lot of fun doing it.

However, I’ve noticed…an…issue with my 4 year old daughter’s dance moves. Actually, I refused to believe it until my step-mother pointed it out one day last year: Vivi has stripper dance moves.

And indeed she does.

Honestly, it gets a little embarrassing. I mean, don’t get me wrong, it’s hilarious when she sits on her bum, props her upper body up with her arms behind, tilts her head back and starts swinging her hair. All she needs is a bucket of water dumped on her and it’s the scene from that movie I don’t know the name of (Flashdance?).

Sure, it’s hilarious when she sticks out her little booty and starts shaking it back and forth. Less funny is when she bends over and puts her hands on the ground and starts the toddler version of twerking. And, no, she never saw Miley Cyrus’s performance.

IN FACT, our television habits consist of PBS and Disney Junior. EXCEPT, occasionally, when I’m on the phone or she’s with an older relative and she ends up watching “older kid shows” and music videos on the Disney Channel. Which, is where she learned to dance like a stripper, I’m pretty sure (I KNOW Sid the Science kid isn’t dry-humping the air to the beat).

And as I started to pay attention to those shows about the tween girls at Hogwartz music school or whatever and the music videos between shows, I realized that some of her stripper moves looked awfully familiar.

First I laughed.

Then I cried (on the inside).

What happened to the Disney Channel (and other kids entertainment/channels) being “safe” for all ages? I mean, when I was an older kid watching TV, it was Boy Meets World and even Rescue 911. No 14 year old girls looking and acting WAY older than they should. And what’s up with that anyway? What is wrong with letting kids be kids and protecting them from the icky stuff of the world while we can? Girls will get boobs and want to be sexy in their own time…despite what Honey Boo Boo (or her mom) says, it is NOT cool to do it before then. It happens eventually anyway, so why speed it up?

Sigh. But what to do about Vivi’s stripper moves. I just don’t know. The girl loves to dance and is probably more of a interpretive dancer with stripper tendencies than straight up stripper. I guess until then I’ll just keep doing what I’ve been doing: telling her to “Get your bum in. Don’t do that. That’s not appropriate.”

I just hope she doesn’t end up like Jessie Spano…

Leave a Reply

